SPARK is a pan-disability Art Festival

The SPARK Disability Art Festival is committed to equity and inclusion and welcomes all artists who self-identity as Deaf, having a disability or living with mental health barriers. This includes: emerging and established artists with developmental, physical, or sensory disabilities, mental health barriers, brain injury, and/or chronic illness.

While SPARK primarily supports Calgary artists with disabilities, the Festival welcomes applicants from around the globe.



Be a Part of This Year's SPARK Festival

SPARK Disability Art Festival is currently accepting Expressions of Interest from artists who self-identity as emerging/disabled to take part in an upcoming Solo Artist Series, presented in collaboration with the RBC Emerging Visual Artists program at Arts Commons. For this call there are no restrictions on theme, subject matter or eligible media. Installation-based art is encouraged. Visual artists are therefore encouraged to consider SPARK as an opportunity to take risks, push boundaries and celebrate a lived experience of disability. All artwork submitted must be available for display between the dates of June through August, 2020.

The deadline to enter this year's summer festival is April 10, 2020. Please download the Call for Expressions of Interest (EOI) below and email applications to



SPARK works with established artists who self-identify as having a disability to serve on our jury committee for different festival events. Jurors receive CARFAC fees to independently review submitted materials in order to select artists for exhibition. To access the remote jurying system, jurors must have access to the internet; previous experience with Microsoft office is of benefit but is not a requirement. In order to be considered for the jury, artists must NOT intend to submit their own artwork into the current festival.


Artists that are interested in exploring this opportunity further should contact the SPARK Disability Art Festival by email:

Note: They are no Calls for Jurors at this time.